The Archaeological Research Facility maintains affiliations with non-faculty research associates based both on and off of the UC Berkeley campus. View this page for further details about the different ways to be affiliated with the ARF.

Name Affiliation Research Interests Contact info
Mohammed Alami

Research Associate
Architectural History, Islamic Art, Earthean Architecture hamdounialami@berkeley.edu
James Allan

ARF Partner
Jim Allan
Saint Mary's College Maritime Archaeology, Historical Archaeology jallan@stmarys-ca.edu
(925) 631-8044
Mitch Allen

Research Associate
Mitch Allen
Scholarly Roadside Service Academic writing services mjaltamira@sbcglobal.net
925 285-8664
Rebecca Allen

Research Associate
Rebecca Allen
ESA Environmental Science Historical Archaeology, California Mission studies, Landscape Studies, Publishing rallen@esassoc.com
916-564-4500
Michael Ashley

ARF Partner
Michael Ashley
Center for Digital Archaeology Digital recording systems, photography and photogrammetry michael@codifi.org
Todd Braje

ARF Partner
Todd Braje
Irvine Chair of Anthropology at the California Academy of Sciences Coastal archaeology, Maritime Archaeology, migrations tbraje@calacademy.org
Scott Byram

ARF Partner
Scott Byram conducting GPR survey at Fort Ross, CA
Feature Survey, Inc Ground Penetrating Radar, geophysics, historical arcaheology, fishing weirs scott.byram@gmail.com
510-508-1535
David R. Cohen

ARF Partner
African Archaeology, Ceramics, Zooarchaeology dcohen@berkeley.edu
Robert David

Visiting Researcher Scholar
Dave David
Petroglyphs, Northwest Archaeology modocdave33@gmail.com
Linda Donley-Reid

Research Associate
Linda Donley-Reid
Swahili architecture, Ethnoarchaeology lindadr@pacbell.net
Mark Emerson

Research Associate
mark.emerson@berkeley.edu
Ayana Omilade Flewellen

Post-Doctoral Scholar
Anthropology
Archaeological Research Facility
African American History, Historical Archaeology aaflewellen@berkeley.edu
Kevin Gibbs

Research Associate
Kevin Gibbs
Researcher, Hearst Museum of Anthropology
UC Berkeley
k.gibbs@berkeley.edu
Tim Gill

Research Associate
Tim Gill
Paleolithic, Hawaiian Archaeology timothymgill@comcast.net
Donna Gillette

Visiting Researcher Scholar
American Rock Art Research Association Rock Art rockart@ix.netcom.com
Lori  Hager

ARF Partner
Lori Hager
Bioarchaeologist, Pacific Legacy, Inc Bioarchaeology hager@pacificlegacy.com
Chris Hoffman

Campus Colleague
Chris Hoffman
Research Information Technology, UC Berkeley Photogrammetry, Digital Collections, immersive visualization technologies chris_h@berkeley.edu
John Holson

ARF Partner
John Holson
Principal, Pacific Legacy, Inc. Historical Archaeology, CEQA, Consulting holson@pacificlegacy.com
Richard Hughes

ARF Partner
Richard Hughes
Director, Geochemical Research Laboratory Geochemistry rehughes@silcon.com
(650) 851-1410
Lucas R. Martindale Johnson

ARF Partner
Lucas Martindale Johnson
Far Western, Inc. Geochemistry, Lithics skerab@gmail.com
Matthew Kroot

ARF Partner
Matthew Kroot
Santa Clara University 408-554-2794
Edward M. Luby

ARF Partner
Ed Luby
San Francisco State University Museum studies emluby@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-3163
Melanie J. Miller

Research Associate
Melanie Miller
Postdoctoral scholar, University of Otago, NZ Bioarchaeology millermj@berkeley.edu
Sidsel Millerstrom

ARF Partner
Oceanic Archaeology, Rock Art smillerstrom@cal.berkeley.edu
Evan Muzzall

Campus Colleague
Evan Muzzall
Instructional Services Lead, D-Lab
356 Barrows Hall, UC Berkeley
Bioarchaeology evan.muzzall@berkeley.edu
510-664-7000
Breck Parkman

ARF Partner
Breck Parkman
State Parks archaeologist (retired) Edward.Parkman@parks.ca.gov
(707) 769-5652
Sherry Pierce Parrish

ARF Partner
Sherry Pierce Parrish
California Indians, Material Culture, Museum studies spiercep@gmail.com
Les Rowntree

Research Associate
Les Rowntree
Professor emeritus, Geography, San José State University Geography, Climate Change, Landscape Ecology rowntree@berkeley.edu
Russell Sheptak

Research Associate
College 2251 (ARF), UC Berkeley rsheptak@berkeley.edu
Charles Striplen

ARF Partner
Chuck Striplen
California EPA California Ecology, Archaeology, Traditional Ecological Knowledge ohlone1@berkeley.edu
707-576-2689
Charlotte Sunseri

Research Associate
Charlotte Sunseri
Associate Professor, Anthropology, San José State University California archaeology, Historical Archaeology Charlotte.Sunseri@sjsu.edu
408-924-5713
Burcu Tung

Visiting Researcher Scholar
Director of Programs, Cyark burcu.tung@gmail.com
Barbara Voytek

ARF Partner
Publications bvoytek@berkeley.edu
Alexei Vranich

Research Associate
Alexei Vranich
Professional Profile
Bowles Hall
avranich@gmail.com
424-245-9748